Chrome - Handwriting Journaling or smth idk

Observe Yasu's head for a silly sound.

Of Barbies And Microwaves

Mild/Light-hearted.
Written: August 10th, 2023.


A little bit of a late entry, since today is the 10th- but I hadn’t gotten around to making the journal page yet, and I still thought it was funny, even if it’s super annoying and we still didn’t fix it yet. This was on the 1st.

So, as the title of the entry says- me, my mom, and my brother went to see the Barbie movie. I liked it! Not a perfect movie, but it was trying to send something out and it did it. Margot Robbie was pretty much a perfect cast for Barbie. Also, Ryan Gosling killed it as Ken. I had to try not to cry like 7 different times in the theatre LOL. Thankfully I have years of conditioning where I can sort of suck it back in my eyes… to varying degrees of success. The movie hit kind of hard given that I’m not a stereotypically feminine sort of woman, I always sort of leaned towards more boyish interests and mannerisms which I always got slack for. But all that aside, where does the microwave come in?

So, for context, my dad is incompetent. That’s the most I’ll say about him since it’s not positive for pretty much all of it. He's fairly good at messing things up all the time, then acting like all of us are just as accident prone. That if an accident does happen (which according to him, it will.) Then it’ll be by our hands and our stupidity, etc, etc. So, cut to me, my mom, and my brother out to eat after the Barbie movie, and my mom gets a text from my dad which- I shit you not, started with “please don’t be mad, but- “ Like the way a child would approach their mother after they did something wrong… even though he's a grown ass man. He said he tried to put a bag of popcorn in the microwave for 3 minutes, and we assume- like usual, he was too busy on the phone and walked away from the microwave. Which then caught on fire. He apparently snuffed out the flame by keeping the door shut and then dumping the bag in water or something, even though we have a fire extinguisher like… 3 feet from the kitchen? Idk if I’m being honest, it’s impossible to get a straight story out of him, but point is- he sends us pics of the microwave charred black on the inside with a burnt looking popcorn bag shriveled up and charred black in it. And then he shitily washed the inside of the microwave with a chemical that would poison us if we microwaved food in it and ate it. But the microwave was broken, so a day or two after the incident, he took it off the wall and now it’s been sitting on our kitchen table taken apart since he's trying to fix it instead of just getting a new one… Since he doesn’t have the money because he refuses to work. (Refuses. Not tries, and fails to.) So now we’ve been without a microwave for like 2 weeks, and when I tell you I didn’t realize how often we used that microwave until we can’t use it anymore… It took over half an hour to heat up leftovers that would have taken 2 minutes… smh. It was pretty funny just recounting the absurdity of it though. Like we come out of the Barbie movie all happy after having a fun day out, and are immediately hit with the microwave being lit on fire for the measly 3 hours we left him alone.

So there's a little glimpse into my life and the kind of chaos this one guy brings on lolol